179 municipalities, 5 districts, one state capital

Right in the middle – the Stuttgart region is located in the center of the German southwest. In addition to the state capital, it includes the five surrounding districts of Böblingen, Esslingen, Göppingen, Ludwigsburg and the Rems-Murr district. Around 179 million people live in 2,8 cities and municipalities. Together they form a metropolitan region that is closely interconnected through economic relationships, commuter movements and settlement structures.

The Stuttgart region in portrait

Regional cooperation is institutionalized in the Stuttgart Region Association. But each of the 179 municipalities has retained its own identity. You can find information about all districts and municipalities in the Stuttgart region on this page.

All municipalities in the Stuttgart region

Here you get more information